General Comments

by Various Authors (Switch to

Sat, 30 Jun 2001 18:59:30 EDT
I really can't believe what some of these so called reveiwers had to say about Ann Wilson.They know she is doing a fantastic job on the Abby Road Tour,but they just have to say mean things about her weight.We the fans are there to here her sing.Thats what they are there to reveiw.Can't you mean spirited assholes keep her weight out of it. " Had to vent "Thanks Diane
Sat, 30 Jun 2001 20:31:55 EDT
I was at the show at Celebity theatre, and I just read one of the reviews..The review by Scott Harvey, I am disgusted to see him make such a comment

"Then Todd came over with some sort of deli sandwich and said he wouldn't put down the sandwich (probably a good idea with Ann Wilson in the vicinity) but he would sign with the hand available. "

This shows insensitivty to Ms. Wilson...I cannot belive you allowed such a comment to remain on this site...Why have you allowed this to be!?


Sat, 30 Jun 2001 20:40:25 EDT
Michael Markins review...

You have allowed Ms Wilson to bashed a 2nd time

"Ann (All You Need Is Lunch) Wilson, "

I cannot believe you people allow this on here to be said about such a woman, she may have problems on weight but for you to allow someone to bash her in this way...I thought you people were on here side, evidently not....


Sat, 7 Jul 2001 17:50:52 -0500

Seems to me y'all are disappointed cause TR didn't take enough time w y'all after the shows.

My rule of thumb is if I admire a artist I don't want to meet him or her.

Meeting or getting to know them is usually very disappointing.

I can give you examples but not in this forum.

I don't want to meet em, greet em, socialize, or hang out w them.

I figure their work speaks for itself and if they want to contact me I'm easily found.

Unlike them - I don't hide my E address.


From: Diane E Persons
Date: Mon, 9 Jul 2001 23:54:49 EDT
Subject: Stanley "DISCO" Zylowski

When you sing like ANN WILSON, you don't dance disco like" Stanley Zylowski "It's ROCK N ROLL. Get that STANNNNLEY?????????????

From: Karen
Subject: Abbey Road Reviews
Date: Thu, 12 Jul 2001 13:19:57 -0400

After reading all of the reviews of the Abbey Road Show and having seen the show myself in Ontario, Canada on July 8th, I must say that I am also disappointed in the comments of some of the "reviewers". Ann Wilson is more amazing now than she was in the 70's. To comment on her appearance is just distasteful. I also noticed that there were rude comments on John Entwistle's appearance. These are two incredible performers. And just what are we reveiwing...the performances or the appearances of the performers themselves. I noticed that nobody commented on Todd's ridiculous hair or his odd outfits. Probably because it's his website. I also took offense to the comments on David Pack's wimpy Ambrosia tunes. Someone called him a "relative unknown". He's probably one of the most under rated musicians. Not only did he front Ambrosia, he's an accomplished songwriter and producer working with the likes of the Judds, Michael MacDonald, Linda Ronstadt, James Ingram, Cece Winans, Quincy Jones, Kenny Loggins, Patti Austin and Leonard Berstein, to name a few. He was also the Musical Director for both of Bill Clinton's Inaugural Balls in 93 and 97, and sang "Biggest Part of Me" while the President and Mrs. Clinton danced their first dance.. He did an amazing job on the Abbey Road show. His musical talents and his voice are outstanding. His name should clearly be including in the billing.

From: Ben Joly

Wayne Reu had a question about the Rickenbaker Guitar Todd was playing In His review of the Kailua Kona, HI show.

Rickenbaker sells a John Lennon Limited Edition Model.

Here is a link to the Web Page.

From: "marilyn gaal"
Subject: comments on reviews
Date: Sat, 21 Jul 2001 07:45:05 -0400

Sorry to say Ambrosia's songs are WIMPY!!!

Date: Mon, 23 Jul 2001 13:42:52 -0400

Dear Friends and Fans,

Haven't we had just about enough shoddy, thoughtless, stuffy journalism from The Washington Post? For those of you who live in the Washington D.C. area, I'm sure you realize that the article criticizing the "Abbey Road Tour" was actually a GOOD review by Buzz McClain. To say that the group performed with varying degrees of enthusiasm really goes too far. If you (Buzz) were not "impressed" by John Entwistle's enthusiasm or Alan Parson's laid back style, it really shows that you really don't get out much.

Buzz was right about two things. The sound wasn't all that great and "Fool on the Hill" was a most impressive number. However to title your article "Wanna-Beatles" really insults me as a musician as well as thousands of fans. (Buzz, if you were too busy thinking about something critical to say during the last 25 minutes of the concert, maybe you didn't notice that everyone, with the possible exception of you, was on their feet) When was the last time you called Leonard Slatkin and Midori "Wanna-Beethovens". Face it, classical musicians live and breathe to play music of the artists. These Rock and Rollers, however, are simply paying tribute to a artists that totally changed the world and pay a great tribute, they did.

The fact is that the Washington Post seems to have the knack of sending the wrong writers to the right shows. Next time the Post sends someone to review a rock and roll show they shouldn't send a cynic, they should send a critic....I mean a good critic.....possibly a MUSICIAN. (wow, what a concept)

By the way, Buzz, you may want to go out and buy yourself a copy of Todd Rundgren's "Faithful" album. On second thought, NEVER MIND.



Date: Mon, 30 Jul 2001 09:46:20 -0700 (PDT)
From: L. Dougherty
Subject: Reviews

It is incredible to me, both as a fan and a musician, that anyone would allow themselves to disrespect any musician doing a tour that is a tribute to the Beatles. At the worst, one would come away with an idea of how not to perform the most influencial music in the rock and roll era. Each musician performed everyone's music as well as they wanted their own played; I have rarely heard a band so well suited for each other.

Yes, it was loud. What concert have you been to that wasn't? Yes, there were mistakes. Last time I checked, we're all human, and that was NOT a recording studio. Those omperfections are what make a live concert memorable - good, bad or indifferent. Seeing Anne Wilson made me get up and go back to my own music career. It's hard work, but she still sounds good, and I would welcome the opportunity to try.

I was privileged to attend the Stanhope, NJ concert. It is my hope to see these musicians again very soon. I enjoyed myself as I haven't in years. DO IT AGAIN!!!!!

L. Dougherty
Collingswood, NJ

Other reviews for overall A Walk Down Abbey Road

The Todd Rundgren Connection is brought to you by Roger D. Linder & The Linder Logo Rocemabra Web Services.